Stephen King to Release “Joyland” on Hard Case Crime

Stephen King’s “The Colorado Kid” from Hard Case Crime

“Joyland” is going to be released by Hard Case Crime, the same imprint responsible for releasing “The Colorado Kid” in 2005. I really enjoyed The Kid, as I call it, and was looking forward to a new Hard Case Crime release from Stephen when I first heard the rumor that he would be releasing a new one.

According to an article in the Christian Science Monitor,

“Joyland” will follow a college student named Devin Jones who works at a carnival in North Carolina during the 1970’s and learns of a past crime and a child whose time may be running out.

Stephen King plans to release a new book in June of 2013,  as a paper book only. This surprises me as King was one of the first major authors to start releasing ebooks. Also, does this mean no audiobook? As a fan of audiobooks and as a person that does almost ALL of my reading on an iPad, this is a little upsetting. Here’s a quote from the press release:

I love crime, I love mysteries, and I love ghosts. That combo made Hard Case Crime the perfect venue for this book, which is one of my favorites. I also loved the paperbacks I grew up with as a kid, and for that reason, we’re going to hold off on e-publishing this one for the time being. Joyland will be coming out in paperback, and folks who want to read it will have to buy the actual book. -Stephen King

That’s all the info, for now. I will post links to pre-order as soon as they become available. Should you be interested in reading “The Colorado Kid”, here’s some links to grab a copy.

The Colorado Kid:  Amazon | Audible | iBooks | iTunes Audio | Kobo

Posted By: Matt Jacobs

5 comments on “Stephen King to Release “Joyland” on Hard Case Crime

  1. Pingback: Re-reading Stephen King « Black and White World

  2. This doesn’t necessarily preclude an audiobook eventually coming out (especially if it’s successful), but it’s an interesting publishing ploy by SK. Perhaps, he feels he can help reverse the growing trend of ebooks. He’s popular and has enough clout to attempt this sort of thing, but I don’t see it catching on as most authors and publishers would want to cover all the distribution bases to maintain or increase sales. Just my thought.

Leave a Reply

