WOAH! That Was THAT Dude? – Wil Wheaton

Trailer for Wil Wheaton’s web show, “Table Top,” on the “Geek and Sundry” Network

I thought it might be fun to do some posts that are kind of similar to the “Where are they now?” posts that I’ve been doing here, but with a little different spin. This is going to be a series of posts that came from my watching Stephen King Movies and going “I wonder who these people are?” and then looking them up on IMDb. This is the first of those posts, and I wanted to discuss Wil Wheaton and why you may know him.

As you should know by now, I am a turbo-nerd. I am also a huge fan of nerd culture celebrities, mostly due to the fact that nerd culture celebs are generally smart and articulate… in other words, they mock the Kardashians rather than kissing their asses. I am a huge fan of Wil Wheaton.  I, unfortunately, have not had the pleasure of meeting him in person, but he seems like a genuinely nice person. As a member of nerd culture, I like having great people representing us, people that are very approachable and friendly. People like Wil Wheaton, Chris Hardwick and Felicia Day are wonderful examples of this.

A little background on Wil Wheaton:

I am a big fan of all things Nerdist, and this is a clip taken from “The Nerdist: Year in Review” on BBC America in which Wil Wheaton and Chris Hardwick share a special moment. #NerdTears

Wil Wheaton is also seen in quite a few staples of nerdom, such as Eureka, The Guild and The Big Bang Theory, all of which, I love. I’m not going to go fetch all those clips, but here is a scene from Big Bang Theory at least:

Wil Wheaton is probably most known for his time in Star Trek: The Next Generation in which he played Wesley Crusher. Here’s a scene in which Wesley gets pwned by Capt. Picard:

So, what does all this have to do with Stephen King? Well, that same guy also played the role of Gordie Lachance in “Stand By Me,” Rob Reiner’s adaptation of King’s short story “The Body.” In the scene below, Wil Wheaton is the one that finds the leech on his crotchuncular junction, if I may be so bold as to make up words:

“WOAH! That was THAT dude?” I know right? That was my reaction as well! Stephen King has said, on several occassions, that “Stand By Me” is his absolute favorite adaptation of one of his stories and, when shown the film prior to it’s release, remained in the theater after the movie was over because of his emotional reaction to the movie. That is, probably, the greatest honor to a film maker that is working on an adaptation.

*NOTE* Should Wil happen to see this and be interested in doing an interview for this blog or the podcast, I would be more than pleased to conduct said interview. #Fanboy 🙂

Posted by Matt Jacobs

Wil Wheaton Links:  Blog | IMDb | Twitter

Related Links:  Stephen King Movie Club |  Nerd Casting the Dark Tower Movies, Pt. 2

“Stand By Me” on:  Amazon (DVD and Instant) | iTunes | Netflix

Leave a Reply

